Finally Fall

The weather and my kitchen table are finally feeling and looking like fall.

For this quilter who is always hot, the cooler temps are invigorating.  I don’t even mind putting on my coat to take these two little guys outside at 11 pm each night.

This was a rare moment when these two could be near each other and there wasn’t any growling going on.

My kitchen table had a red heart tablerunner on it.  When I won a fall fat quarter pack from Machine Quilters Resource, I decided it was time for a fall tablerunner.  Candy corn is one of my favorite candies and of course I had to take a bite out of one of them while quilting!  Blocks are quilted with my version of McTavishing, leaf design in the sashing and triangles and feathers in the outer border.

I’ve wanted to try some fabric pumpkins.  After researching various methods on the internet, I tried a very simple pumpkin using a circle of fabric and gathering the edge.  The smaller pumpkin was done this way and is okay.  The larger pumpkin is about 8 melon shapes which requires a bit more time, but frankly, I didn’t worry about doing it perfectly and it turned out fine.  I love the ribbed look of that one and if I every make more, will do that method.

Next on my Gammill is an original design by the daughter of one of my quilting friends.  She should be publishing these quilts as patterns!  The next piecing job is the Quilt of Valor for a widow that I promised my son and daughter-in-law I would do.

Thanks for stopping by to visit.

Linda

Leave a Reply

