February’s UFO or (better known as) Ugly Made Acceptable

Judy Laquidara over at Patchwork Times (http://www.patchworktimes.com/ has been having a UFO Challenge.  Two months in, I’m two for two.  Seems having structure and deadlines is good for me.  I blogged about this month’s challenge and showed a picture of this ugly quilt  in a previous post.  Originally this quilt was intended for my husband.  I think it was about 4 years ago that I made the top.  At that time his only requirements were that a quilt be warm and big enough.  Before I got it finished, he started making quilts and became much more sophisticated in his quilt likes and dislikes.  Now he likes pure colors with high contrast.  This quilt doesn’t exactly meet those requirements.  But it is done and he has appreciated having it because it is much warmer than the one he usually sleeps under.

The fabric is a very soft brushed cotton.  Hobbs 80/20 batting.  King Tut variegated thread.  I copied parts of the  pantograph Bear Moose Pine 4 by Debra Geissler, arranged it so that the bear and moose were in the tan and the pine tree was on the color strips and then taped it together to make my own pantograph.

Since my husband has been using it, it was somewhat wrinkled for the picture.

I had a helper.  Beau loves this quilt!

Thanks for stopping by to see my February finish and stop over at Judy’s blog.  Lots of info and inspiration.

Linda

8 thoughts on “February’s UFO or (better known as) Ugly Made Acceptable

  1. Hi Linda,
    Thank you very much for reading my blog. I really appreciate your nice words and am glad you decided to comment!

    Sorry about the link. I seem to be having trouble with her blog address lately! You are the second person who has told me I have gotten it wrong. It is http://marysartmusings.blogpost.com. She will be thrilled to know that someone is reading. I don’t know if she has written anything yet, but I will tell her to get on the stick!

    I like your UFO shown above. It is a very modern design. I can see a series of these quilts in all different colors and fabrics, but with the same design. Good work!
    Jaye

  2. UMA–LOL–Ugly Made Acceptable! I think that should be a new category for every month! I have a few of them.

    Yours. . . .is NOT one of them! Great quilt!!

Leave a Reply

