Bloggers Quilt Festival-Fall 2011

It’s always so much fun to look at all the quilts posted in the Bloggers Quilt Festival.  This year I thought I would post a quilt of mine.

This is a linen, wholecloth quilt.  I learned how to make this kind of quilt from a class by Cindy Needham.  The bridge tablecloth had embroidery on it so I design the quilting to enhance the embroidery.  I stitched it to a lovely piece of blue fabric and then quilted it.  I wanted it to have a pretty name and my husband suggested his grandmother’s name, Anna LaFrance.  The label is an old cocktail napkin and has a picture of her.  The hanging sleeve is a piece of lace.

This was the first quilt I’ve done of this type.  It was a trial run before I do a tablecloth that my Mom cross stitched.  I didn’t want to start with hers because I was so afraid I would ruin it.  Now I have the confidence to quilt her tablecloth.  It will be wonderful to be able to have something Mom made to snuggle in.

The Bloggers Quilt Festival can be found here

http://amyscreativeside.com/

 

If you need a longarm quilter, please don’t hesitate to contact me through the comments section.

Thanks for stopping by.

Linda

7 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival-Fall 2011

Leave a Reply

