Longarm Cord Solution

I’ve got this thing about electric cords. Don’t like them. Especially don’t like them strung across a wall, snaking across the floor, or draped over an end table. Sometimes it can’t be helped but before I give up I’ll try every idea I can find.

My husband installed a cord traveling system on my Gammill using conduit, but that wasn’t going to work with my new Innova since it has a center leg. Couldn’t find ideas on the Internet so the cord was on the floor. That was not a good thing. I stepped on the power strip button and momentarily shut the machine off-twice. I wrapped the cord around my ankle-twice. My husband stepped on it twice and then couldn’t move the machine! After that happened, he said he’d come up with something.

The solution was to insert a bolt in the ends, just inside the back edge. A wire is wrapped around one bolt, attached to a turnbuckle at the other end which is attached to the other bolt. Super simple.
I happen to have some rings that hold cafe curtains so we are trying those but you could use simple shower curtain rings the put the cord through.

Here’s pictures.

20130831-081125.jpg

20130831-081223.jpg

20130831-081311.jpg

20130831-081336.jpg

If you have any questions, let me know.
Thanks for stopping by.
Linda

5 thoughts on “Longarm Cord Solution

  1. Oh brilliant!! I have mine hanging but I bang my knee on the cords when I’m doing a panto, This is just what I need to get this thing hanging a little closer to the middle of the table. Thanks!

  2. Hi! I see that the post about the cord system is over a year old. I have been searching for a while for an answer to the problem. I have a Gammill Classic. Do you have photos of your husband’s solution to that (prior to your Innova)? I would really love to know the fix for the problem. My machine moves smoothly mostly, but there is a tiny pull from the cord that is driving me nuts! I would appreciate your advice since you seem to have solved the issue twice now! Thanks in advance, Brenda H

  3. Linda,
    I have an Innova and trying to find a fix for my tripping cords. I understand the cable, bolts and ring holder for the cord. I don’t know where you put your surge protector. Do you have a picture of the surge protector? The thick cord is from what? Extension cord?
    Thank you so much. I’m a visual person and just need another picture so I can work on my set up.
    Jeanne

Leave a Reply

