Lost City – Cuzco Quilt

This pattern by Kate Spain uses her line of fabric called Cuzco. It is easy to imagine her inspiration being the Lost City of Cusco. When I research this Inca city, I found the pictures showed walls that went across the mountain, almost horizontally. So I thought the quilting should reflect the Inca influence.

Quilt top was pieced by my friend and customer, Lynette.

Thought I would try taking some photos outside since the light in the house seems dim. But then, the trees were creating shadows.

20140411-175815.jpg

20140411-175834.jpg

20140411-175851.jpg

I used Rainbows variegated thread, with colors that are in the quilt, to quilt double lines following the piecing lines. Also used the Rainbows to stitch an Inca cross called Chakana in this area. In between those lines I quilted double lines and the white area with white Sew Fine thread.

20140411-180230.jpg

Since I pebbled the center circle, I repeated these circles in several other different areas.

20140411-180359.jpg

The large white area kept telling me to quilt something with vertical emphasis. So I divided the space into three areas and filled them with swirls and a design I thought was very “Incan.” You can see instructions for this design at Feathered Fibers. She calls it “Sprocket.”

20140411-180935.jpg

20140411-180947.jpg

20140411-181001.jpg

20140411-181011.jpg

This quilt was quite a challenge for me since it is my first modern quilt that seem to ask for extremely dense quilting. Frankly, I told a well known modern quilter that I was “freaking out” about it. Not far from the truth. But in the end, I practiced several ideas on my computer, went with my instincts, and watched the design develop as I drew in the lines. Didn’t turn out too bad! JIMO

Thanks for stopping by.

Linda

10 thoughts on “Lost City – Cuzco Quilt

  1. wow, I can’t believe what you did to that quilt. You gave it such dimension and beauty! I love everything about it. I really adore the back ground quilting but I think what really pulls me in the quilting in the foreground. It just took that piecing and completed it entirely. Amazing!!

  2. You did a great job on this one! The quilting really complements the top. I can’t wait to see it ‘up close and personal.’

  3. Great quilting job! Of course, I am partial to the Sprocket Design! You are right, it does have an Incan flair. Thanks for the shout out, too. Happy Quilting, Carla

  4. I am just finishing this quilt top for my son and his new bride. I was researching quilting ideas when I found your site. You did an amazing job! Oh how I wish I could do this but it looks very challenging for a mid-arm machine. Do you mark all your designs before you load the quilt top? I am new at this.

    • I marked the straight lines. You can do this. Break it down into sections and tackle one section at a time. Use whatever fill you are comfortable with or practice drawing the one I did, and then have fun with it. Happy quilting.

      • Thank you Linda, I just ordered a Bodin marker so I hope it will be okay on all that white fabric! I am afraid to just use chalk…won’t it get rubbed off while I load my quilt?

  5. Test any marker you use on a piece of scrap fabric first to be sure you can remove it. I used a water soluble blue marker but my customer will immerse the quilt in water to remove the marker. Chalk can stay long enough if you don’t lean on the edge of the quilt and rub it. However white on white doesn’t show and I don’t trust colored chalk.

  6. Linda, I’m a little late in spotting this, but am so glad I did! Your quilt is absolutely beautiful and I love how you were inspired by the research you did about Cusco. I can see Incan-inspired elements in your quilting design and it really pulls the whole quilt together in a rich and beautifully authentic way. So happy to hear you worked through the challenge of having to address all that white space, and you did it so well that the balance of color to quilting is so harmonious! I love it!

Leave a Reply

