Last Minute Christmas Gifts

I reserve the month of December for baking, decorating, and any other Christmas celebrating I choose to do. So no customer quilts to show you today.

I did decide a week before Christmas that I would make my grandson, who is attending App State, a wall hanging of his music fraternity letters. His Mom had sent them to me along with the suggestion. He was truly pleased when he unwrapped his present.
image

Fused appliquéd letters with swirl background quilting.
imageimage

Since I made something for him, I had to make something for his sister. So she got a pillow sham that matches the quilt she got last year.
imageimage

Then I decided my step-daughter, their Mom, should get something handmade too. Everyone can use a zippered pouch.
image

I had bought something for my son’s girlfriend who would be spending Christmas with the family, but needed something for her kids. Her little girl wanted to buy an apron for Mom, so I thought she might like an apron too. Mom’s had cupcakes on it. I had a piece of fabric with birthday cakes, cupcakes, donuts, and other goodies. I figured that was close enough.

I partially used 2 free patterns I found on the Internet and added my own touch. It is reversible and is sturdy. I really liked how it is made. I need to take notes of what I did before I forget. (It might already be too late.)
imageimage

Her son likes to do art and was given a sketch pad and colored pencils for a gift. I made him an artist tote for his drawing supplies. He also likes cats.
image

This was the most frustrating gift I made. I put heavy interfacing in it to help it hold the drawing pad. This kind of project is definitely not my cup of tea. I’d rather do something I need to quilt!

Perhaps one holiday I won’t leave these decisions to the last minute. I can dream can’t I?

Thanks for stopping by.
Linda

One thought on “Last Minute Christmas Gifts

  1. Hi Linda, Happy New Year! I am so impressed with you and your beautiful work! Your family is very lucky! Thanks. Ann

Leave a Reply

