Quilted Autumn Table Topper

As usual, I’m working on multiple projects as well as customer quilts. Soon I’ll post progress on those. But today, this post is a table topper I made last fall. A 10 year old Christmas table topper has been on my coffee table. I made it before I bought a longarm. Definitely past time for it to go.

This pattern is from happyquiltingmelissa.com. The pattern Star Light Star Bright can be found under Quilt Alongs.

What is so great great about this pattern is that she gives instructions for making any size or number of blocks you could possibly want. I made one 24″ block for my table topper.

image

I quilted straight lines in the busy autumn fabric, concentrating most of my efforts on the places where quilting would show. The leaf and acorn motifs were traced onto Sulky Solvy, pinned on the fabric, and stitched. After binding, I immersed the quilt in water to dissolve the Solvy. Worked like a charm!

image

image

image

I made a mistake in color placement but this version of the block would work if you wanted a strong diagonal in your quilt.

Thanks for stopping by.
Linda

Leave a Reply

