Room For All-In My Garden and In My Heart

I have finally come up for air. This quilt has consumed all of my quilting time for a long time. No customer quilts, no other quilting projects though we moved my sewing and Longarm rooms to the other end of the house. But that mess is a post for another day!

I have debated whether or not to fully express what this quilt says to me. But decided to do it, no matter the response for I have become personally aware of the closed hearts of some.

This quilt was born out of an idea when I was sitting at my kitchen table last summer watching the birds fly in to the bird bath. There were so many of them and in the middle of it all, a bluebird decided to take a bath. It didn’t matter that he was bigger and “different” from the goldfinches. There was room for him too. Even the squirrels are welcomed. I realized this was a picture of the heart I have for people. My family and friends consist of members that are different in looks or background or views but no less loved. So there is room for all in my garden and in my heart. Sometimes this is a work in progress, but, with God’s love, I will continue to grow.

Quilt is fusible, raw edge applique, edges stitched on the Longarm, dense quilting. Without Steam-a-Seam 2, I couldn’t have made this. I had a drawing from several photos but didn’t have exact placement or flowers. Since the fusible has a sticky back, I was able to stick pieces on the background and then rearrange them until I was happy. The squirrel crossing sign is a photo of the sign in my garden printed on EQ printer fabric and then stitched.

Enough talk. Here’s the quilt.

2015/03/dscn2748.jpg

2015/03/dscn2752.jpg

2015/03/dscn2753.jpg

2015/03/dscn2754.jpg

2015/03/dscn2755.jpg

2015/03/dscn2757.jpg

2015/03/dscn2767.jpg

2015/03/dscn2768.jpg

2015/03/dscn2773.jpg

2015/03/dscn2774.jpg

2015/03/dscn2775.jpg

It is done for now. But I might get my box of beads out and see what happens!

Thanks for stopping by.
Linda

12 thoughts on “Room For All-In My Garden and In My Heart

  1. You have a gorgeous view from your kitchen table. I have a couple of birdhouses and a birdfeeder that I can see from my kitchen table and I love it. Your quilt captures the view beautifully.

  2. This is just beautiful! I have a question for you…..I also love Steam A Seam2, but have trouble with ugly needle holes which won’t “heal.” Maybe it’s not the fusible’s fault…..do you have any suggestions for dealing with this? Thanks!

    • I’ll look closely when I get my quilt back. It left today to hang in Palustris, an arts festival in the Pinehurst, Southern Pines area. Don’t think it is a problem though. When I use thinner thread, I put in a smaller needle. Also, if your tension is too tight it can make the holes seem bigger. I also block my quilts which might help close the holes. Hope this helps.

  3. Thanks for the advice about the holes…..your quilt certainly didn’t have any….just lovely thread work all over. I think my problem is tension (sigh)…isn’t it always???! Thanks again….

  4. Your beautiful “birdbath quilt” is absolutely heart-warming!!! Thank you for sharing it and the story. What an inspiration you are to me.

Leave a Reply

