Easy Stash Busting Quilt

One of my bees received a lot of fabric from a lady and we’ve been working on making quilts for nursing homes, Habitat, and other good causes in our areas. This is one made from some of the blue fabric.


This block really looks nice and is so easy.

Makes a 16 1/2″ block. For one block you need:

4 – 5 x 8 1/2 print rectangles

8 – 2  1/4 x 8 1/2 solid strips


I’m using purples and white.

Now sew a white strip to each long side of the purple. I pressed my seam to the purple. Just be consistent and press from the top.


At this point I arrange my 4 blocks so I’m happy with the value placement. Sew the long side of one block to the bottom/top of another. Here a picture is worth a thousand words.


Because pressing that seam towards the purple is pressing it against 2 seams, I chose to press towards the white this time.

Now sew the 2 sections together, nesting the center seam. Like this.


The final block is 16 1/2″ unfinished.

A 3 block by 4 block quilt is 48 1/2″ x 64 1/2″

A 3 block by 5 block quilt is 48 1/2″ x  80 1/2″

A 4 block by 5 block quilt is 64 1/2″ x 80 1/2″

A 5 block by 6 block quilt is 80 1/2″ x 96 1/2″

This isn’t high on my list of quilts to finish by I’ll work on it in little bits of time I have. Perhaps I’ll sew the strips on the rectangles as if they were my leaders and enders.

If you make this quilt, send me a picture and I’ll post it on my blog.

Thanks for stopping by.

Linda

Leave a Reply

