Tuffet In A Day

I took Tuffet In A Day at my local quilt shop, Linderella’s Quilt Shop.  This is the brain child of Sharyn Cole who has a pattern, classes, and website to order supplies.  You have got to check it out. Be sure to visit the gallery.  The possibilities are endless.

Since I have done some upholstery, I wasn’t sure that I needed the class but I am so glad I took it.  She has so many tricks and tips that she has learned over the years.  My tuffet just wouldn’t have been so nice looking without them.  And her foam and base are the best.

Since this was tuffet in a day, all I did at home was to sew 30 strips together on the long side and then sew it into a tube.  I also fused the interfacing that comes in the pattern to muslin and cut out the 8 sections.

Class lasted 5 hours with time out for lunch. I came home with my tuffet complete. As soon as I bent down to take a picture, look who jumped up.

img_1906img_1908img_1912

Since I use a jelly roll, I didn’t have any fabric big enough for the button.  I tried creating something out of the strips, but it didn’t look good.  So at the quilt shop, they gave me plain black fabric and some fusible.  I fused the back of one of the strips and cut out the flowers and then fused them to the black fabric.  Turned out good!

img_1913

I used the Pauline 7″ legs which I actually thought was going to be too low for my legs when sitting in my chair.  But turns out that it is perfect.

img_1914

I couldn’t be happier.

Check out the class that Sharyn teaches at iquilt.com if you aren’t near Linderella’s.  Just click this link to go directly to her tuffet class.  It would be well worth the price and you can view your class anytime you want and over and over.

I think another tuffet is in my future!

Thanks for stopping by.

Linda

2 thoughts on “Tuffet In A Day

  1. Linda – your Tuffet turned out gorgeous! And I’m so pleased to hear that you had a great time in class and more importantly love your Tuffet – Sharyn at TuffestSource.com has designed a great pattern and is a great teacher to boot! Thank you so much for your ongoing support of Linderella’s Quilt Works and enjoy your tuffet when (and if) your furry friend decides to give it up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

