Nancy Remembered

For quite some time, I’ve been finishing quilts (backing, quilting and binding) that a friend made before she passed away. Her husband wanted them finished so family members would be able to enjoy them and remember Nancy. Here’s the last 2.

Wedding Ring Quilt-Shell Shock Pantograph with white thread.

IMG_2232

Apparently I didn’t take a picture after it was bound.  I had to review how to make bias binding (that’s a post for later), learn to find the 1/4″ on the new walking foot on my new machine, and then hand sew it.  It seemed to take forever and is definitely not the best binding job I’ve ever done.  But it is done.

The last quilt is an applique quilt which I chose light-medium custom quilting. This quilt has wood felt appliques with pieced blocks.

That’s Nancy’s husband, John, on the left.  I think he is happy we are finally done!

IMG_2293

Some easy triangle quilting and piano key outer border.

IMG_2294

One of the appliques.

IMG_2295

Center block.

IMG_2296

Quilting using a stencil on some of the stars.

IMG_2297

Nancy had a look of peace on her face every time I saw her.  I think she lived Phillipines 4:7.”And the peace of God, which transends all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.”

Thanks for stopping by.

Linda

 

 

5 thoughts on “Nancy Remembered

  1. That’s so nice of you to finish her quilts. I’ve done the same for my cousin, over a long period of time. I have one more full-size top to quilt up and two minis that she had partially finished by hand. It’s a poignant task, isn’t it?

  2. As a former member of the QueenBees, I remember Nancy as kind, calm and loving. Philippines 4:7 is wonderful! You are very kind to have finished Nancy’s quilts. They are beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

