Love It, Teach It

If you have a granddaughter or daughter who shows an interest in learning to sew, then grab that opportunity.  You just might establish a stronger bond between you with the shared love of a creative hobby.  Or at worse, you will have introduced a skill they may return to at a later date, in one form or another.

Pauli has the good fortune to have a granddaughter who is interested in learning to make quilts.  I don’t know if this is her first, but she is well on her way to enjoying a lifetime of quilting.  Her granddaughter picked out fabrics and sewed the quilt with grandmother helping, of course, when needed.

Light grey thread with Ocean Froth pantograph. It’s a large quilt at 83 x 100. Pictures taken when it was laid over my longarm.

IMG_2337

Ocean Froth Pantograph

IMG_2338IMG_2339

With light grey thread on a “reads as solid” light grey back, it looks like a whole cloth.

IMG_2340

My Mom was a china painter and did beautiful work.  She even held classes.  I was a grown woman when I decided to learn so I joined one of her classes.  It was enlightening but Mom wanted my pieces to look as good as hers so she would take it out of my hands and fix it.  She said I would regret it later if she didn’t.  Actually that made it no longer mine and I didn’t pursue the hobby.  I appreciated Mom’s ability and much later in life discovered that I might have one ounce of her creativity in me afterall.

Thanks for stopping by.

Linda

Leave a Reply

